Ohio Hunting Information Regulations

< back

Ohio Hunting Regulations

Always check out the complete hunting rules and regulations found at: www.ohiodnr.com/

Ohio Deer Hunters Checklist:

Avoid Problems, Be Prepared!

1.Get the landowners permission to hunt.
2.Buy your annual hunting license and deer permit early.
3.Make sure your gun is plugged and not capable of holding more than three (3) shells.
4.Make sure you meet hunter orange requirements.
5.Know how to attach your temporary tag. Carry a piece of string, watch, and pencil or pen.
6.Know the rules for use of communication devices.
7.Know your APV laws.
8.Know the season dates, hours, and Deer Zones.
9.Follow proper check station procedures.
10.Hunt safely!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hunter Orange Requirement

Hunting any wild animal (except waterfowl) from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during
the youth deer gun season, deer gun season, the statewide muzzleloader deer season, and on designated areas during the early muzzleloader deer season is unlawful unless the hunter is visibly wearing a vest, coat, jacket, or coveralls that are either solid hunter orange or camouflage hunter orange. This requirement applies statewide on both public and private land.

Camouflage Ground Blinds
Use caution when hunting from a camouflaged ground blind. For your safety, mark it with a hunter orange flag or band.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Hunting Zones

The state has been divided into three zones for deer hunting. Please review them carefully.


A Deer Permit ($24) must be purchased by all licensed hunters in order to legally hunt deer.

-Antlerless Deer Permits ($15) may only be purchased until November 29, 2009.
-A hunter may harvest no more than one (1) antlered deer during the 2009-2010 season regardless of where or how it is taken.
-Deer taken in Urban Units and during Controlled Hunts do not count against a hunter's Deer Zone bag limit.
-Deer Zone bag limits are separate and do not impact deer hunting in other Deer Zones.
A B C
A hunter may harvest no more than 2 deer in Zone A during the 2009-2010 season. A hunter may harvest no more than 4 deer in Zone B during the 2009-2010 season. A hunter may harvest no more than 6 deer in Zone C during the 2009-2010 season.
Only 1 deer may be tagged with a Deer Permit ($24) in Zone A. Only 2 deer may be tagged with Deer Permits(s) ($24) in Zone B. Only 3 deer may be tagged with Deer Permits(s) ($24) in Zone C.
Only 1 deer may be tagged with an Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) in Zone A. Only 2 deer may be tagged with Antlerless Deer Permit(s) ($15) in Zone B. Only 3 deer may be tagged with Antlerless Deer Permit(s) ($15) in Zone C.
The Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) is not valid in Zone A after November 29, 2009. The Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) is not valid in Zone B after November 29, 2009. The Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) is not valid in Zone C after December 6, 2009.



Deer Zones and Bag Limits
Deer Permit ($24) Antlerless Deer Permit ($15)
Zone Opening Date Closing Date Limit Opening Date Closing Date Limit Total
A Sept 26, 2009 Feb 7, 2010 1 Sept 26, 2009 Nov 29, 2009 1 2
B Sept 26, 2009 Feb 7, 2010 2 Sept 26, 2009 Nov 29, 2009 2 4
C Sept 26, 2009 Feb 7, 2010 3 Sept 26, 2009 Dec 6, 2009 3 6

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Urban Deer Units

These units include several of the larger metropolitan areas throughout Ohio. Maps with
the boundaries of these areas are available from the Division of Wildlife or on the Web site. Please refer to Ohio Urban Deer Units publication.

Hunters may take up to 6 antlerless deer within the Urban Deer Units using either the Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) or Deer Permit ($24). Antlerless deer taken within the Urban Deer Units will not count towards your zone bag limit.

The Antlerless Deer Permits are valid in the Urban Units from September 26 - February 7. Antlerless Deer Permits ($15) can only be purchased until November 29, 2009.

The designation of an Urban Deer Unit in no way supersedes existing firearms or archery regulations, or community prohibitions. It is the responsibility of the hunter to check with local authorities and obey all existing local ordinances and regulations. Hunters must obtain written permission before hunting on private land.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Hunting Permits

Deer Permit ($24)

In addition to your annual hunting license, you must purchase a Deer Permit ($24) to hunt deer in Ohio. The Deer Permit ($24) is good for an antlered or antlerless deer and is valid statewide.


No more than one (1) antlered deer may be taken per license year. The permit may be used during any of the deer hunting seasons, for controlled hunts or in designated Urban Units. These permits may be purchased individually throughout the entire deer season. Please refer to the section above to determine the number of Deer Permits ($24) you can use in each deer hunting zone.


Antlerless Deer Permit ($15)

Hunters must buy a Deer Permit ($24) before purchasing any Antlerless Deer Permits ($15). Antlerless Deer Permits ($15) may be used ONLY to take antlerless deer. These permits may be purchased individually until November 29, 2009.

Antlered deer are deer with antlers 3 inches or longer in length; antlerless deer include deer without antlers and deer with antlers less than 3 inches in length.

The antlerless deer permits are valid statewide during the archery season between September 26 and November 29 while using a longbow or crossbow. The Antlerless Deer Permits ($15) may be used in Zone C through December 6. The Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) is also valid at Division of Wildlife controlled hunts, the early muzzleloader season, youth deer gun season, and within designated Urban Deer Units (see Urban Deer Units). Refer to the section above to determine the number of Antlerless Deer Permits ($15) you can use in each deer hunting
zone.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Hunting Hours

Archery season hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

Hours for deer hunting are 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset for the Youth Deer Gun Season, Deer Gun Season, the Early Muzzleloader Season, and Statewide Muzzleloader Season.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Tagging

Every person who kills a deer must immediately fill out the temporary tag with the name and address of the hunter and date and time the deer was killed, detach the temporary tag from their deer permit, and immediately attach that tag to the dead deer at the place where it fell. Your temporary deer tag must be separated from the deer permit and tied to the deer.

The material used to produce the licenses and permits has changed and will need to be protected from the elements. You may choose to purchase a reusable license/tag protective holder if available at the license vendor or many office supply stores or make your own.

Attach a piece of string, wire, etc. to your temporary tag before you hunt. Carry a pen or pencil and a watch with you to fill out your temporary tag. The temporary tag must remain on the deer until it is taken to an official deer check station for permanent tagging. See Deer Check Station Locations online. Once a temporary tag is detached from the permit, it is illegal to hunt or pursue deer with a hunting device without purchasing an additional valid deer permit (See Concealed Carry information). For multiple deer permit holders, the first deer taken in the day must have been temporarily tagged before hunting or pursuing another deer.

Hunters with deer permits must use the temporary tag from the permit. Landowners and tenants who take a deer on their land and any other person not required to purchase a deer permit as well as hunters who purchase a deer permit over the Internet must make and attach their own tag with their name, address, and date and time killed. This tag must be attached to the dead deer immediately in the field at the place were it fell.


-Fill out all necessary information on the tag.
-Tear off tag from the deer permit.
-Place the tag into a protective holder.
-Attach the tag and protective holder to the deer with string, twist-tie, or wire.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Permits Purchased Over the Internet

Hunters who purchase a deer permit over the Internet must fill in the date, time, and county where the deer was killed on the bottom portion of the permit they are carrying. This must be completed and kept by the hunter. DO NOT DETACH. The hunter then must make and attach their own temporary tag with their name, address, and date and time the deer was killed and attach it to the deer in the field at the place were it fell.

Take something with you to make a sturdy temporary tag and something to tie it on with when packing gear for your hunt.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deer Checking

Only the person who kills the deer can present it to the check station. All deer must be checked in the county of harvest or an adjacent county, except an antlerless deer taken within an Urban Deer Unit with an Antlerless Deer Permit ($15) must be checked in the Urban Unit where killed.

It is unlawful to attach a temporary tag to a deer taken by another person.

Deer must be checked by 8:00 p.m. on the day after harvest, except a deer taken on the last day of the archery season (Feb. 7), the youth gun season (Nov. 22), the gun season (Dec. 6 and Dec. 20), the early muzzleloader season (Oct 24), or the statewide muzzleloader season (Jan. 12) must be checked by 8:00 p.m. that day.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tree Stands

It is unlawful to construct, place or use a permanent-type tree stand, or to place spikes, nails, wires or other metal objects into a tree to act as steps or to hold a tree stand on public hunting lands. It is also unlawful to make any of these changes to trees on private property without first getting the permission of the landowner or the landowner¢®¯s authorized agent.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allowable Hunting Equipment

Archery Season Longbow: minimum draw weight 40 lbs.

Crossbow: stock of at least 25 inches, and having a working safety: draw weight not less than 75 lbs. The arrow tip shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed minimum 3/4 inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

Gun Season and Youth Deer Gun Season: 10 gauge or smaller shotgun using one ball or one rifled slug per barrel (rifled shotgun barrels are permitted when using shotgun slug ammunition); or muzzleloading rifle .38 caliber or larger; or handgun with 5-in. minimum length barrel, using straight-walled cartridges .357 caliber or larger, or longbow, crossbow (draw weight limitations same as for Archery Season). Shotguns cannot be capable of holding more than three shells.

Statewide Muzzleloader Season: Longbow, crossbow (draw weight limitations same as for archery season), muzzleloading rifle .38 caliber or larger, or muzzleloading shotgun of 10 gauge or smaller using one ball per barrel.


Hunters cannot carry more than one firearm while hunting deer. See Concealed Carry information.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Deer Hunter CANNOT do any of the following:

1.Hunt or take a deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells. This means you may not hunt with a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells, unless it is plugged with a one-piece filler which limits the capacity of the gun to three shells. The filler must be such that it cannot be removed without disassembling the gun.


2.Hunt with any rifle other than a muzzleloading rifle .38 caliber or larger during the deer gun, the youth deer gun, the Early Muzzleloader hunts (Salt Fork Wildlife Area, Wildcat Hollow, and Shawnee State Forest), and the statewide muzzleloader seasons.


3.Hunt or take a deer with a gun or possess a loaded firearm while going to and from deer hunting during the deer gun, youth deer gun, and the statewide muzzleloader seasons, at anytime other than 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset. NOTE: Muzzleloading firearms are considered unloaded when the cap is removed or priming powder is removed from the pan or when the battery is removed from electronic systems. See Concealed Carry information.


4.Carry a handgun while hunting deer during the early muzzleloader season (on designated areas), the statewide muzzleloader season, and archery season; have more than one firearm while hunting deer; carry a handgun being used during hunting in a concealed manner. See Concealed Carry information.


5.Use a muzzleloading handgun for deer hunting.


6.Hunt deer with a longbow having a draw weight of less than 40 pounds, or with a crossbow having a draw weight of less than 75 pounds. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.


7.Carry a firearm while deer hunting with a longbow or crossbow. See Concealed Carry information.


8.Have attached to a longbow or crossbow any mechanical, electrical or electronic device capable of projecting a beam of light.


9.Use dogs to hunt deer. Leashed dogs may be used to track wounded deer.


10.Possess shotshells containing shot during the deer gun season, unless waterfowl hunting when the season is open.


11.Hunt coyote or boar between sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise during the deer gun season.


12.Use any device capable of transmitting or receiving a person¢®¯s voice to aid in the hunting or taking of deer.


13.Pursue wounded deer or other wild animals or recover dead deer or other wild animals from private property without the written permission of the landowner.
Download Permission to Hunt Form


14.Carry the deer permit of another person.


15.Receive or possess a deer or parts of a deer unless such deer or deer part is tagged as required or unless the deer or part of a deer has a statement showing when and where legally taken, the date received, and from whom received; or a Division of Wildlife tag, seal, or certificate or other proof of ownership which shows the deer was killed by a motor vehicle in Ohio; or an official tag or seal and valid nonresident license issued by another state if taken from outside Ohio; or certificate of ownership or receipt issued by a wildlife officer.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Hunter CAN do the following:

1.Field dress a deer before transporting to an official deer check station for final inspection and tagging as long as the head remains attached to the body.


2.Aid or assist another hunter who is hunting deer if the temporary tag has been removed from their deer permit as long as he or she does not carry any hunting device commonly used to kill wild animals and has a valid hunting license. Those persons exempted from having a hunting license and deer permits for deer hunting on their property are required to have a hunting license and deer permit to aid another hunter or hunt deer off of their property. See Concealed Carry information.


3.Use certain handguns during the youth deer gun season and deer gun season. These handguns must: (a) have a barrel length of not less than 5 inches, (b) use straight-walled cartridges (no shoulder/neck; straight tapered wall is acceptable) and (c) be .357 caliber or larger.


4.Leave a deer or deer parts with a taxidermist, fur buyer, cold storage, locker plant, or meat processing plant as long as a tag or seal is attached to it that lists the owner¢®¯s name and address and the date and place where the deer was killed. Persons receiving deer from another person must keep records with the owner¢®¯s name and address, the date, time, and place where the deer was legally taken and the date it was received.


5.Take more than one deer per day as long as each deer has been tagged with a temporary tag before hunting for the next deer.


6.Hunt deer over bait.


7.Possess a communication as long as you do not use the device to aid a person in pursuing or taking of deer.


8.Hunt coyote and wild boar during the deer gun season and statewide muzzleloader deer season with a hunting license and a valid deer permit, using firearms legal for deer hunting while visibly wearing a vest, coat, jacket or coverall colored solid hunter orange or camouflage hunter orange. A valid deer permit is a deer permit, with temporary tag attached, and valid for the zone or unit being hunted.

9.Use a leashed dog to recover wounded deer.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hunting Other Game During the Youth Deer Gun, Deer Gun, and Muzzleloader Seasons

Youth Deer Gun Season ¡§C It is lawful to hunt legal game and furbearers (including coyote and wild boar). It is unlawful to use or possess slugs except youth hunters hunting deer. Waterfowl hunting and the night hunting of furbearers is also permitted when the season is open. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting or accompanying a youth hunter during the youth deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange. Archery deer hunters may hunt until 1/2 hour after sunset during the Youth Deer Gun Season ans are required to wear hunter orange.

Deer Gun Season - It is unlawful to hunt any wild animal except deer, coyote, wild boar, or waterfowl statewide from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset. Hunters must possess a deer permit with the temporary tag attached that is valid for the zone or unit being hunted. Hunters may not possess rifle ammunition or shot shells (except waterfowl hunters), however, hunters using a muzzleloading rifle, .38 caliber or larger may possess ammunition for that rifle. Furbearers, except coyote and wild boar, can be hunted from sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise when the deer gun season is open. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting during the deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange.

Statewide Muzzleloader Deer Season - It is lawful to hunt legal game and furbearers (including coyote and wild boar) with shot shells containing shot no larger than #4 (except waterfowl hunters may use larger nontoxic shot). If you are hunting coyote or boar during the statewide muzzleloader deer season with a device that is lawful for deer hunting, you must also have a deer permit with the temporary tag attached that is valid for the zone or unit being hunted. Waterfowl hunting and the night hunting of furbearers is also permitted when the season is open. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting during the statewide muzzleloader deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Division of Wildlife Controlled Deer Hunts

The Ohio Division of Wildlife conducts annual controlled hunts on a number of managed areas that are not normally open to hunting. The dates and locations of the hunts vary from year to year. In an effort to encourage participation by non-traditional user groups, some of the controlled hunts are dedicated to "mobility impaired" persons, youths, or women. However, most of the hunts do not carry any particular designation. For more specific information, please view the Controlled Hunt Section of our Web site or call 1-800-WILDLIFE.

Participation is determined by computer-generated random drawings. The application period is June 1 through July 31. Hunters may apply online using a credit card. If you prefer to submit an application via U.S. mail, hard-copies of the application are available at 1-800-WILDLIFE.

Other controlled deer hunts are held at various locations around Ohio, including certain state parks and Metro parks. The Ohio Division of Wildlife is not involved in the management or administration of many of these hunts. Often these hunts are subject to special rules and regulations. For specific information, hunters must contact the individual areas.

Early Muzzleloader Deer Hunt
Hunters are no longer required to apply for a special permit to participate in this season. Hunters are required to have a valid hunting license and Deer Permit to participate in
the early muzzleloader deer season (October 19-24, 2009; Wildcat Hollow, Shawnee State Forest, and Salt Fork Wildlife Area only). Either a Deer Permit ($24) or the Antlerless Deer
Permit ($15) can be used for this hunt. It is unlawful to hunt any animal except deer, coyote, wild boar, or waterfowl from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset on these areas during this special season. Persons hunting on these 3 designated areas are required to wear hunter orange except for waterfowl hunters. Bag limit 1 deer of either sex and deer harvested during this season count toward the hunter's zone bag limit..

Deer taken during these hunts must be checked at the respective wildlife area headquarters: Salt Fork Wildlife Area Office (Salt Fork Wildlife Area) and Wolf Creek Wildlife Area Office (Wildcat Hollow). Hunters must check deer at the Boland's Mini-Mart when hunting at Shawnee State Forest during the early muzzleloader season.

Allowable hunting equipment includes longbow, crossbow (draw weight limitations same as Archery Season), muzzleloading rifle .38 caliber or larger, or muzzleloading shotgun of
10 gauge or smaller using one ball per barrel. If a hunter kills an antlered deer on a controlled hunt, he or she may not kill another antlered deer during the same license year in Ohio.


Youth Deer Hunts
The Ohio Division of Wildlife conducts several controlled deer hunts for young hunters. The dates and locations of the hunts vary from year to year. See the Youth Hunting Section for details on these hunts and other youth hunting opportunities.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Youth Deer Gun Season

A youth deer gun season will be open statewide, November 21 and 22, 2009 on public and private land. Young hunters 17 years old and younger at the time they purchase their Youth Deer Permit ($12) and who are accompanied by a non-hunting adult may hunt. Accompany means to go along with another person while staying within a distance from the person that enables uninterrupted, unaided visual and auditory communications.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Hunting with Permission
The landowner's written permission is required for hunting and trapping on private land, regardless of whether the land is posted. Permission slips are available at Division of Wildlife district offices and some license outlets.

The Penalty for Hunting Without Written Permission

The maximum penalty for hunting without written permission of the landowner for a first offense is 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. The maximum penalty for a second offense is 90 days in jail and a $750 fine.

A person must carry written permission at all times while engaging in hunting or trapping on private land and exhibit it upon request to a state wildlife officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, other law enforcement officer, owner of the land, or the landowner's authorized agent.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hunting Methods

Unless otherwise indicated, game may be taken with longbow, crossbow, or any caliber handgun, rifle, shotgun (10 gauge or smaller), or airgun. Be safe and choose the appropriate method for the species.

Game birds and game quadrupeds may not be taken by trapping.

Electronic callers may be used while hunting, except while hunting migratory game birds (waterfowl, rails, and shorebirds) and wild turkeys. It is lawful to use electronic callers for crow hunting.

It shall be unlawful to use any device capable of transmitting or receiving a person¢®¯s voice to aid in the hunting or taking of deer.

Spotlighting of wild animals from vehicles, including illuminating with headlights, is prohibited. Spotlighting is illegal whether hunting implements are carried in the vehicle or not.

Persons hunting, trapping, or pursuing furbearing animals at night must carry a continuous white light visible for at least 1/4 mile. When two or more persons are hunting or trapping together for furbearing animals, only one light is required and may be carried by any member of the party. Persons hunting foxes or coyotes with a call from a stationary position may use a single beam light.

It is unlawful to possess a hunting device while training or working a dog pursuing coyotes from sunset to sunrise.

All hunting from motor vehicles, except boats and machinery being used in farm operations is prohibited. Hunters who are physically handicapped to the extent that they cannot walk, may hunt from a stationary vehicle in a field except on a public hunting area. Hunting small game and furbearers except mink, muskrat, and beaver is lawful from a boat or powercraft. All hunting from aircraft is prohibited.

It is unlawful to shoot from, on, across, or along a public road or highway.

During the statewide muzzleloader season and youth deer gun season it is unlawful to hunt legal game with shot shells containing shot larger than #4. Waterfowl hunters must use nontoxic shot of any size.

During the youth deer gun season, deer gun season, and the muzzleloader deer season all hunters must visibly wear a vest, jacket, coat, or coveralls that are solid hunter orange or hunter orange camo, except waterfowl hunters.

Longbows and crossbows may be used to take legal game. However, crossbows may not be used to hunt migratory game birds. Longbow hunters may use a hand-held mechanical release. Crossbows may be cocked with a device, but must have a working safety and a stock more than 25 inches long.

Arrows for longbow and crossbow must be tipped with a broadhead not less than 3/4 inch wide while hunting deer or turkey. The arrow tip must have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed.

It is unlawful to hunt deer or turkey with a longbow having a draw weight of less than 40 pounds, or with a crossbow having a draw weight of less than 75 pounds or more than 200 pounds.

Poisoned or explosive arrows are unlawful. While hunting, it is unlawful to have attached to a longbow or crossbow any mechanical, electrical, or electronic device capable of projecting a beam of light.
Public Hunting Lands

It is unlawful for any person to use a rifle, pistol, revolver, shotgun or other firearm at any time on any land or water area, controlled or administered by the Division of Wildlife except while lawfully trapping, or hunting wild animals, or target practicing on a designated Division of Wildlife target range.

Portions of Deer Creek, Resthaven, La Su An, Grand River, Brush Creek, Waterloo, Cooper Hollow, East Fork, and Fallsville wildlife areas will be open for disabled persons to drive their cars or trucks to designated interior areas for hunting. Disabled persons are required to have a physician¢®¯s statement listing the illness or disability that prohibits them from walking. It remains unlawful to shoot from any motorized vehicle.

It is unlawful to hunt with or possess any shot except nontoxic shot at Metzger Marsh, Mallard Club, Pipe Creek, Magee Marsh, Toussaint, and Little Portage wildlife areas.

All hunting and trapping on Magee Marsh Wildlife Area is by permit only.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On All Wildlife Areas

It is illegal to sit, stand, or otherwise be in contact with oil or gas production or transmission wells, pumps, tanks, pipes, and other equipment.

Roadside camping is prohibited on all state wildlife areas. Primitive campgrounds are located on Woodbury, Tycoon, Wolf Creek, and Monroe wildlife areas.

It is unlawful for any person to use or hunt with a rifle, pistol, or revolver from October 15 through January 1 during the daylight hours on any lands owned, administered or under agreement with the Division of Wildlife, except when properly used on a designated Division of Wildlife target range or when hunting squirrels with a rimfire rifle, pistol, revolver, or muzzleloading rifle .40 caliber or smaller, or when deer hunting with a muzzleloading rifle or legal pistol or revolver during the youth deer gun season, deer gun season, statewide muzzleloader season, and the early muzzleloader season.

On Auburn Marsh Wildlife Area it is unlawful to use a rifle, pistol, revolver, or a shotgun using slugs at any time. Deer hunting at Auburn Marsh Wildlife Area is lawful using archery equipment only.

All wildlife areas are closed to all activity other than hunting, trapping, and fishing from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. September 1 through May 1 and from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. May 2 through August 31.

Beaver and river otter trapping are prohibited on all state public hunting areas including state parks and forests without a special permit from the Division of Wildlife. Consult our district offices or website for information on how these permits can be obtained.

State parks have special hunting and trapping regulations. Some are not open to hunting or trapping. A permit is required to build a duck blind on state park lakes. Consult the Division of Parks and Recreation, 2045 Morse Rd., Columbus, Ohio 43229 or the park manager.

It is unlawful to operate or park any vehicle on properties administered by the Division of Wildlife except on designated roads and parking areas.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Possession

Live furbearing animals, amphibians, reptiles, game quadrupeds, or game birds may not be held in captivity or sold except by propagation permit.

Hides of fur-bearing animals taken legally during the open season may be sold during that open season.

Furbearers may not be taken alive during open hunting and trapping seasons.

Persons desiring to buy green or dried fur must have a fur dealer's permit.

It is unlawful to buy, sell or possess nongame birds or their parts, dead or alive.

Quebec Hunting Information

Quebec is probably best know as an excellent caribou hunting destination. Hunters from across the globe travel to Quebec to hunt their big Quebec-Labrador caribou migration. In addition to caribou hunting, Quebec offers black bears, Canada moose and whitetails.

more > >

Illinois Hunting Information

Illinois is widely known as a top trophy whitetail destination. Illinois also has some great waterfowl hunting, especially in southern portions of the state.

more > >

Arizona Hunting Information

Arizona has lots of trophy big game but is probably best known for its trophy elk and mule deer. This partially due to the limited number of tags available.

more > >